RSS

Resting in God’s Will

06 Jul

I read this devotional tonight and immediately thought of the true joy which can come from contentment in God alone, no matter what we may be going through. In facing the trials of this life, I have learned the following story to be an accurate view of the difficulty we may face as well as the hope which rests in God’s Sovereign purposes. May this be an encouragement to everyone who reads this as it has been to me tonight.

I suppose I used up all my vitality in the Lord’s work, and in bearing the burdens necessarily laid upon me by my dear husband’s state of health and there was not enough left for the baby. It has been an inexpressible disappointment to me, and I do not care to dwell on it. I thought I sorely needed the comfort a baby always brings to me, and I had looked forward to it with the most intense longing.

But I know God’s will is best, and I am satisfied! I do not permit myself to dwell on what might have been. And in the lonely night hours, when sorrows and losses and anxieties are so sure to come and claim a hearing, I can only turn resolutely away and say over and over and over to myself and to God, “Thy will be done, Thy will be done!” until the sweet refrain lulls me to sleep when nothing else would. And so I have learned to make the sweet will of God literally my pillow; and upon it I often realize with Faber that “no cradled child more softly lies than I.”

—To a Friend, September 2, 1873

~Hannah Whitall Smith and Melvin Easterday Dieter, The Christian’s Secret of a Holy Life: The Unpublished Personal Writings of Hannah Whitall Smith~

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 6, 2012 in Encouragement

 

Leave a Reply

 
In Christ Jesus

There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus

